Summer Bucket List

20140218-224602.jpg

Things I cannot wait to do once my ankle is healed and my summer bucket list:

  • Walk into the Columbia River or Lake Chelan and feel the cold water embrace my ankle.
  • Walk into the forest and enjoy nature.
  • Hike up into my hometown’s hills with my mom, brother, and our dogs.
  • Take advantage of stairs and enjoy it.
  • Go for walks and enjoy it.
  • Lay out and play in the summer sun an enjoy it.
  • Go for long drives.
  • Go for runs.
  • Take my brother to the park and hang out with him.
  • Ride horses with my mother.
  • Go floating with my mom and brother.
  • Enjoy my human autonomy when I no longer need to rely on others help.

Even though some of these things may be completely inaccessible due to my recovery process, it’s the activities I yearn for. The movements and experiences I took for granted when I wasn’t handicapped. The family times I dismissed for other lame reasons. I’m ready for summer.

Leave a comment